Under the Chairmanship of Shin-ichi Kurokawa, COSYLAB and KEK, the 2016 Asian Committee for Future Accelerators (ACFA)/IPAC’16 Accelerator Prize winners were decided in January this year, as follows:

The Xie Jialin Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field, with no age limit is awarded to Derek Lowenstein, BNL, USA,

“for his many years of leadership in the accelerator field especially that in the AGS Booster and BNL Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC). He led the construction of the AGS Booster, which culminated in the world-record proton intensity in the AGS. This work also formed the basis for the establishment of the NASA Space Radiation Laboratory. He was instrumental in realizing this dedicated facility to study radiobiological effects important to human spaceflight to Mars or other planetary missions. He continued his leadership in overseeing the commissioning, operation and upgrades of RHIC, the world’s first heavy ion and polarized proton particle collider. RHIC is a highly successful accelerator facility with its unprecedented flexibility and outstanding luminosity performance.”
Derek Lowenstein

The Nishikawa Tetsuji Prize for a recent, significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, with no age limit is awarded to Gwo-Huei Luo, NSRRC, Taiwan,

“for his outstanding contributions to accelerators at NSRRC, Taiwan, especially for his leading role in the management, construction, and commissioning of the Taiwan Photon Source (TPS). He has successfully brought the TPS project into a real bright light source. His dedication, broad expertise and leadership has contributed in a critical way to the success of the TPS, which must satisfy a number of challenging conditions that do not exist for a green-field machine. The other challenge was using superconducting cavities towards high current and high RF power. The construction of the superconducting RF system was indeed successful, and within four months after the start of operation of superconducting cavities in summer 2015, TPS has achieved a storage of 520 mA beam current that surpasses the design goal.”
Gwo-Huei Luo

The Hogil Kim Prize for a recent, significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, awarded to an individual in the early part of his or her career is awarded to Sam Posen, Fermilab, USA,

“for recent important, original contributions to accelerator technology, especially to the development of Nb3Sn film coated superconducting rf cavities. Dr Posen's achievements include in particular developing a process for producing a special Nb3Sn film on Nb and demonstration of excellent performance in critical field and Q-factor which are expected to outperform traditional Nb cavities. This discovery promises great improvements in the performance of future accelerator.”
Sam Posen

The Mark Oliphant Prize for a student registered for a Ph.D. or diploma in accelerator physics or engineering, or to a trainee accelerator physicist or engineer in the educational phase of his or her professional career, for the quality of work and promise for the future will be decided during IPAC’16. The Mark Oliphant Prize candidates are shortlisted from applications supported by references from supervisors, and on the basis of work proposed for presentation at the conference. The candidates are judged during the Student Poster Session at the outset of the conference.